Does Winning Paradise Jam Forecast A Trip To The NCAA Tournament?

Winning a tournament in November certainly doesn't define a team. Nor does it guarantee great results the rest of the way.

However, making an early statement can certainly pay dividends with the NCAA Tournament Selection Committee come March. That’s why all eyes should be on the 2017 Paradise Jam as it will once again serve as an important avenue on the road to postseason play.

Since the tournament began in 2001, there is a direct correlation between winning the event and playing in the postseason.

Of the 16 champions, 13 teams have made it to the postseason, including 11 NCAA Tournament appearances.

UConn made it to the Final Four in 2008. Marquette (2011) and Purdue (2009) made it to the Sweet Sixteen, and Creighton, last season's runaway winner, was impressive all season.

So for the eight teams — Houston, Colorado, Wake Forest, Liberty, Drexel, Drake, Mercer, and Quinnipiac — competing for the title from Friday, Nov. 17, to Sunday, Nov. 19, at Liberty University in Lynchburg, VA, there is a lot on the line, and FloHoops is the only place to see every game.


Here is a look at the past champions, the star of the tournament, and how their season eventually ended:

2016 Champion: Creighton

Tournament MVP: Marcus Foster

Final Record: 25-10

Postseason: NCAA Tournament

2015 Champion: South Carolina

Tournament MVP: Sindarius Thornwell

Final Record: 25-9

Postseason: NIT Second Round

2014 Champion: Seton Hall

Tournament MVP: Sterling Gibbs

Final Record: 16-15

Postseason: No Postseason Appearance

2013 Champion: Maryland

Tournament MVP: Dez Wells

Final Record: 17-15

Postseason: No Postseason Appearance

2012 Champion: New Mexico

Tournament MVP: Kendall Williams

Final Record: 29-6

Postseason: NCAA Tournament

2011 Champion: Marquette

Tournament MVP: Darius Johnson-Odom

Final Record: 27-8

Postseason: NCAA Tournament Sweet 16

2010 Champion: Old Dominion

Tournament MVP: Ben Finney

Final Record: 27-7

Postseason: NCAA Tournament

2009 Champion: Purdue

Tournament MVP: E’twaun Moore

Final Record: 29-6

Postseason: NCAA Tournament Sweet 16

2008 Champion: UConn

Tournament MVP: Hasheem Thabeet

Final Record: 31-5

Postseason: NCAA Tournament Final Four

2007 Champion: Baylor

Tournament MVP: Curtis Jerrells

Final Record: 21-11

Postseason: NCAA Tournament

2006 Champion: Alabama

Tournament MVP: Alonzo Gee

Final Record: 20-12 

Postseason: NIT First Round

2005 Champion: Wisconsin

Tournament MVP: Alando Tucker

Final Record: 19-12

Postseason: NCAA Tournament

2004 Champion: Arkansas

Tournament MVP: Ronnie Brewer

Final Record: 18-12

Postseason: No Postseason Appearance

2003 Champion: Boston College

Tournament MVP: Craig Smith

Final Record: 24-10 

Postseason: NCAA Tournament

2002 Champion: BYU

Tournament MVP: Marques Green (St. Bonaventure)

Final Record: 23-9

Postseason: NCAA Tournament

2001 Champion: Miami (FL)

Tournament MVP: John Salmons

Final Record: 24-8

Postseason: NCAA Tournament

A Few Favorite Things Of AAU Basketball Players

As someone who has competed in AAU basketball tournaments in the 1900's, this list of things both delighted me and made me feel extremely old.

Kentucky, Duke The Latest To Show Interest In 2019 Wing Kahlil Whitney

Kentucky has already landed one player from Roselle (N.J.) Catholic High School.

AAU 13U: Florida Lightning Bring Opportunities To Sunshine State Youth

A chance meeting changed Daryl Johnson's direction in the sport of basketball.

Checking In On Toronto Raptor Kawhi Leonard

Kawhi Leonard has no desire to play in Toronto, league source tells ESPN.

Hungrier Than Ever: AAU 19U Nationals Field A Voracious Group Of Players

At the AAU Nationals, the Rochester Area Players, or "Rap Stars" out of Rochester, NY, have long been a player on the 19U level. 

2018 AAU 15U Boys Championship Pool Standings/Schedule

Watch live on FloHoops July 18-22. 

2018 AAU 16U Boys Championship Pool Standings/Schedule

Watch live on FloHoops July 18-22. 

2018 AAU 17U Boys Championship Pool Standings/Schedule

Watch live on FloHoops July 18-22. 

2018 AAU 19U Boys Championship Pool Standings/Schedule

Watch live on FloHoops July 18-22. 

Cole Anthony, Armando Bacot Highlight FloHoops 2018 All-Peach Jam Team

NORTH AUGUSTA, SC — After four days on the scene, here are the All-Peach Jam teams composed by Tom Konchalski and Adam Zagoria.